هنا مسرد للمصطلحات المستخدمة في جميع أنحاء الموقع.

مصطلحتعريف
الإجهاضإنهاء الحمل قبل أن يصبح الجنين قادراً على الحفاظ على حياة مستقلة خارج الرحم. يمكن أن يحدث الإجهاض إما بشكل عفوي ، عندما يطلق عليه الإجهاض التلقائي أو الإجهاض ، أو يمكن أن يكون إجهاضًا محرضًا. تختلف المرحلة التي يعتبر فيها الجنين قابلاً للحياة وفقًا للتشريعات والتوصيات المختلفة.
متلازمة نقص المناعة المكتسبالمرحلة المتأخرة من العدوى التي يسببها فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية (HIV).
طرق الحاجزتمنع وسائل منع الحمل الحاجزة الحمل عن طريق منع دخول الحيوانات المنوية إلى تجويف الرحم جسديًا أو كيميائيًا. يساعد الواقي الذكري على الحماية من الأمراض المنقولة جنسياً ، بما في ذلك عدوى فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية. تشمل طرق الحاجز أغطية عنق الرحم والواقي الذكري والأغشية والواقي الأنثوي ومبيدات النطاف والإسفنج.
تنظيم النسلتحديد النسل هو استخدام أي ممارسات أو طرق أو أجهزة لمنع حدوث الحمل لدى المرأة النشطة جنسيًا. يشار إليها أيضًا باسم تنظيم الأسرة أو منع الحمل أو التحكم في الخصوبة أو منع الحمل. تم تصميم طرق تحديد النسل إما لمنع إخصاب البويضة أو زرع بويضة مخصبة في الرحم.
عنق الرحمعنق الرحم هو الجزء السفلي الضيق من الرحم. يقع الرحم ، وهو عضو مجوف على شكل كمثرى ، في أسفل بطن المرأة ، بين المثانة والمستقيم. يشكل عنق الرحم قناة تفتح في المهبل وتؤدي إلى خارج الجسم.
الحمل خارج الرحمحمل غير موجود في الرحم. تستقر البويضة الملقحة وتنمو في أي مكان آخر غير البطانة الداخلية للرحم. 95٪ من حالات الحمل خارج الرحم تحدث في قناة فالوب. ومع ذلك ، يمكن أن تحدث في أماكن أخرى ، مثل المبيض وعنق الرحم وتجويف البطن.
جنينالبويضة الملقحة حتى عمر ثمانية أسابيع.
وسائل منع الحمل في حالات الطوارئطريقة لمنع الحمل تستخدم لتجنب الحمل بعد فعل واحد من الجماع غير المحمي بسبب عدم استخدام أو فشل وسائل منع الحمل. يجب أخذ وسائل منع الحمل الطارئة (EC) في أسرع وقت ممكن بعد ممارسة الجنس غير المحمي. تشبه "حبوب منع الحمل" حبوب منع الحمل ولكنها تحتوي بشكل عام على جرعات هرمونية أعلى. يُعتقد أن EC يمنع الإباضة و / أو الإخصاب و / أو الانغراس. لا تكون فعالة بمجرد بدء عملية الزرع ولن تسبب الإجهاض. تشير الأبحاث إلى أن الـ ECPs يمكن أن تمنع الحمل حتى خمسة أيام (120 ساعة) بعد الجماع غير المحمي.
خطة العائلةالجهد الواعي من الأزواج أو الأفراد للتخطيط وتحقيق العدد المرغوب من الأطفال وتنظيم المباعدة بين الولادات وتوقيتها.
تسميدالإخصاب هو عملية دمج الأمشاج الذكورية أو "الحيوانات المنوية" مع الأمشاج الأنثوية أو "البويضة". ناتج هذه المجموعة هو خلية تسمى البيضة الملقحة.
جنينالنسل الذي لم يولد بعد من نهاية الأسبوع الثامن بعد الحمل وحتى الولادة. حتى الأسبوع الثامن ، يُطلق على النسل النامي اسم الجنين.
الحمىعلى الرغم من أن الحمى تقنيًا هي أي درجة حرارة للجسم أعلى من المعدل الطبيعي 98.6 درجة فهرنهايت (37 درجة مئوية) ، إلا أنه من الناحية العملية لا يُعتبر الشخص مصابًا بحمى كبيرة حتى تزيد درجة الحرارة عن 100.4 درجة فهرنهايت (38 درجة مئوية). .
طب النساءيهتم فرع الطب بشكل خاص بصحة الأعضاء التناسلية الأنثوية وأمراضها.
منع الحمل الهرمونيطرق جهازية لمنع الحمل تعتمد على البروجستاجين مع الإستروجين أو البروجستاجين وحده. تشمل طرق الولادة الحبوب (موانع الحمل الفموية) والحقن والغرسات. كلها قابلة للعكس.
فيروس نقص المناعة البشريةالفيروس المسبب لمرض الإيدز. هناك نوعان من فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية معروفان حاليًا: HIV-1 و HIV-2. الفيروس السائد في جميع أنحاء العالم هو HIV-1. يمكن أن ينتقل كلا النوعين من الفيروس عن طريق الاتصال الجنسي أو الدم أو من الأم إلى الطفل (إما قبل الولادة أو أثناءها أو من خلال الرضاعة الطبيعية). بينما يعاني بعض الأفراد من مرض خفيف مرتبط بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية بعد فترة وجيزة من الإصابة الأولية ، يظل الجميع تقريبًا بصحة جيدة لسنوات. عندما يضر الفيروس تدريجيًا بجهاز المناعة لديهم ، يبدأون في تطوير عدوى انتهازية تزداد شدتها ، بما في ذلك الإسهال والحمى والسل والالتهاب الرئوي والورم الليمفاوي وساركوما كابوزي.
جهاز المناعةالدفاع الطبيعي المعقد للجسم ضد الاضطرابات التي تسببها العوامل الأجنبية الغازية (مثل الميكروبات والفيروسات).
الإجهاض المتعمدإجهاض يحدث عمدا. يسمى أيضًا الإجهاض الاصطناعي أو العلاجي.
عدوىنمو كائن طفيلي داخل الجسم. الكائن الحي الطفيلي هو الكائن الذي يعيش على كائن حي آخر أو في داخله ويستمد غذائه منه.
جهاز داخل الرحم (مانع للحمل)طريقة طويلة الأمد وقابلة للعكس لمنع الحمل ، تتضمن إدخال جهاز مرن صغير في الرحم من مواد معدنية / بلاستيكية / هرمونية. اللولب فعال وآمن.
طريقة انقطاع الطمث الرضاعة (لام)طريقة لمنع الحمل بعد الولادة على المدى القصير. وهي تستند إلى أدلة على أنه لمدة 6 أشهر بعد الولادة ، تحدث درجة عالية من الحماية بشكل طبيعي ضد الحمل ، إذا كانت الأم ترضع بشكل كامل عند الطلب ولم تكن لها فترة.
الدورة الشهرية الأخيرةوفقًا للاتفاقية ، يتم تأريخ حالات الحمل بالأسابيع التي تبدأ من اليوم الأول من آخر دورة شهرية للمرأة (LMP). إذا كانت فترات الحيض منتظمة وتحدث الإباضة في اليوم 14 من الدورة ، يحدث الحمل بعد أسبوعين تقريبًا من الدورة الشهرية. لذلك تعتبر المرأة حاملًا في 2 أسابيع بعد أسبوعين من فواتها الأولى.
حبة بجرعة منخفضةحبة منع حمل مركبة تحتوي على 35 ميكروغرام من الإستروجين أو أقل.
حيضيفيما يتعلق بالحيض ، كما في آخر دورة شهرية ، تقلصات الدورة الشهرية ، الدورة الشهرية ، متلازمة ما قبل الحيض.
فترة الحملحالة حمل جنين أو جنين في جسد الأنثى.
العدوى المنقولة جنسياأي عدوى تنتقل عن طريق الاتصال الجنسي. يحدث بسبب الكائنات الحية الدقيقة التي تعيش على الجلد أو الأغشية المخاطية في منطقة الأعضاء التناسلية ، أو تنتقل عن طريق السائل المنوي أو الإفرازات المهبلية أو الدم أثناء الجماع. لأن المناطق التناسلية توفر بيئة رطبة ودافئة فهي تساعد بشكل خاص على تكاثر البكتيريا والفيروسات والخمائر. تشمل العدوى الإيدز ، والكلاميديا ​​، والهربس التناسلي ، والثآليل التناسلية ، والسيلان ، والزهري ، وعدوى الخميرة ، وبعض أشكال التهاب الكبد.
الموجات فوق الصوتيةموجات صوتية عالية التردد. يمكن ارتداد الموجات فوق الصوتية من الأنسجة باستخدام أجهزة خاصة. ثم يتم تحويل الصدى إلى صورة تسمى الموجات فوق الصوتية. يسمح التصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية للأطباء والمرضى بالحصول على رؤية داخلية للأنسجة الرخوة وتجاويف الجسم دون استخدام تقنيات جراحية. غالبًا ما تستخدم الموجات فوق الصوتية لفحص الجنين أثناء الحمل.
المسالك البوليةأعضاء الجسم التي تنتج وتفرز البول. وتشمل هذه الكلى والحالب والمثانة والإحليل.
التهاب المسالك البوليةإصابة الكلى أو الحالب أو المثانة أو الإحليل. لا تظهر الأعراض على كل من يعاني من التهاب المسالك البولية تشمل الأعراض الشائعة إلحاحًا متكررًا للتبول وحرقًا مؤلمًا عند التبول. عدد الإناث المصابات بعدوى الجهاز البولي أكثر من الذكور. يمكن أن تؤدي الظروف الأساسية التي تعيق تدفق البول الطبيعي إلى الإصابة بعدوى المسالك البولية المعقدة.
الرحمالرحم هو عضو أجوف على شكل كمثرى يقع في أسفل بطن المرأة بين المثانة والمستقيم. الجزء الضيق السفلي من الرحم هو عنق الرحم. الجزء العلوي الأوسع هو الجسم. يتكون الجسم من طبقتين من الأنسجة.

Here is a glossary of terms used throughout the website.

Term Definition
Abortion Termination of pregnancy before the fetus has become capable of sustaining an independent life outside the uterus. An abortion can occur either spontaneously, when it is called a spontaneous abortion or miscarriage, or it can be an induced abortion. The stage at which a fetus is considered viable varies according to different legislations and recommendations.
Acquired immunodeficiency syndrome The late stage of infection caused by the Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV).
Barrier methods Barrier methods of contraception prevent pregnancy by physically or chemically blocking the entrance of sperm into the uterine cavity. Condoms help to protect against sexually transmitted infections, including HIV infection. Barrier methods include cervical caps, condoms, diaphragms, female condoms, spermicides and sponges.
Birth control Birth control is the use of any practices, methods, or devices to prevent pregnancy from occurring in a sexually active woman. Also referred to as family planning, pregnancy prevention, fertility control, or contraception. Birth control methods are designed either to prevent fertilization of an egg or implantation of a fertilized egg in the uterus.
Cervix The cervix is the lower, narrow part of the uterus. The uterus, a hollow, pear-shaped organ, is located in a woman’s lower abdomen, between the bladder and the rectum. The cervix forms a canal that opens into the vagina, which leads to the outside of the body.
Ectopic pregnancy A pregnancy that is not in the uterus. The fertilized egg settles and grows in any location other than the inner lining of the uterus. 95% of ectopic pregnancies occur in the Fallopian tube. However, they can occur in other locations, such as the ovary, cervix, and abdominal cavity.
Embryo The fertilized egg up to eight weeks old.
Emergency contraception A method of contraception used to avoid pregnancy after a single act of unprotected sexual intercourse due to lack of use or failure of a contraceptive. Emergency Contraception (EC) should be taken as soon as possible after unprotected sex. These “morning-after pill” are similar to birth control pills but generally contain higher hormone doses. EC are thought to prevent ovulation, fertilization, and/or implantation. They are not effective once the process of implantation has begun and will not cause abortion. Research indicates that ECPs can prevent pregnancy up to five days (120 hours) after unprotected intercourse.
Family planning The conscious effort of couples or individuals to plan for and attain a desired number of children and to regulate the spacing and timing of their births.
Fertilization Fertilization is the process of combining the male gamete, or “sperm,” with the female gamete, or “ovum.” The product of this combination is a cell called a zygote.
Fetus The unborn offspring from the end of the 8th week after conception until birth. Up until the 8th week, the developing offspring is called an embryo.
Fever Although a fever technically is any body temperature above the normal of 98.6 degrees F. (37 degrees C.), in practice a person is usually not considered to have a significant fever until the temperature is above 100.4 degrees F (38 degrees C.).
Gynecology The branch of medicine particularly concerned with the health of the female organs of reproduction and its diseases.
Hormonal contraception Systemic methods of contraception based on either a progestagen combined with an oestrogen or a progestagen alone. The methods of delivery include pills (oral contraceptives), injectables and implants. All are reversible.
Human immunodeficiency virus The virus that causes AIDS. Two types of HIV are currently known: HIV-1 and HIV-2. Worldwide, the predominant virus is HIV-1. Both types of the virus may be transmitted by sexual contact, through blood, and from mother to child (either before or during birth, or through breast feeding). While some individuals experience mild HIV-related disease soon after initial infection, nearly all then remain well for years. As the virus gradually damages their immune system, they begin to develop opportunistic infections of increasing severity, including diarrhea, fever, tuberculosis, pneumonia, lymphoma and Kaposi’s sarcoma.
Immune system The body’s complicated natural defense against disruption caused by invading foreign agents (e.g. microbes, viruses).
Induced abortion An abortion that is brought about intentionally. Also called an artificial or therapeutic abortion.
Infection The growth of a parasitic organism within the body. A parasitic organism is one that lives on or in another organism and draws its nourishment from.
Intrauterine (contraceptive) device A long-term, reversible method of contraception, involving the insertion into the uterus of a small flexible device of metal/plastic/hormonal materials. IUDs are effective and safe.
Lactational amenorrhoea method (LAM) A post-partum method of preventing pregnancy in the short term. It is based on evidence that for 6 months after birth a high degree of protection naturally occurs against pregnancy, if the mother is fully breast-feeding on demand and has not had her period.
Last menstrual period By convention, pregnancies are dated in weeks starting from the first day of a woman’s last menstrual period (LMP). If menstrual periods are regular and ovulation occurs on day 14 of her cycle, conception takes place about 2 weeks after her LMP. A woman is therefore considered to be 6 weeks pregnant 2 weeks after her first missed period.
Low dose pill A combined contraceptive pill that contains 35 micrograms of oestrogen or less.
Menstrual Pertaining to menstruation (the menses), as in last menstrual period, menstrual cramps, menstrual cycle, and premenstrual syndrome.
Pregnancy The state of carrying a developing embryo or fetus within the female body.
Sexually transmitted infection Any infection transmitted by sexual contact. It is caused by microorganisms that survive on the skin or mucus membranes of the genital area, or transmitted via semen, vaginal secretions, or blood during intercourse. Because the genital areas provide a moist, warm environment it is especially conducive to the proliferation of bacteria, viruses, and yeasts. Infections include AIDS, Chlamydia, genital herpes, genital warts, gonorrhea, syphilis, yeast infections, and some forms of hepatitis.
Ultrasound High-frequency sound waves. Ultrasound waves can be bounced off of tissues using special devices. The echoes are then converted into a picture called a sonogram. Ultrasound imaging allows physicians and patients to get an inside view of soft tissues and body cavities without using invasive techniques. Ultrasound is often used to examine a fetus during pregnancy.
Urinary tract The organs of the body that produce and discharge urine. These include the kidneys, ureters, bladder, and urethra.
Urinary tract infection Infection of the kidney, ureter, bladder, or urethra. Not everyone with a UTI has symptoms. Common symptoms include a frequent urge to urinate and a painful, burning when urinating. More females than males have UTIs. Underlying conditions that impair the normal urinary flow can lead to complicated UTIs.
Uterus The uterus is a hollow, pear-shaped organ located in a woman’s lower abdomen between the bladder and the rectum. The narrow, lower portion of the uterus is the cervix; the broader, upper part is the corpus. The corpus is made up of two layers of tissue.